Bernard Gordon Entrepreneurial Award

Established in 1992, this award is named for magazine publishing executive Bernard Gordon to recognize students who manifest outstanding entrepreneurial creativity, drive and excellence. Given by his family, the award honors Gordon as the adjunct associate professor who co-founded Medill’s Magazine Publishing Project in 1980. Gordon was vice president of Cahners Publishing Co., which published trade and business magazines, and president of Denoyer-Geppert Co., an educational publishing company. He also headed his own consulting firm. Gordon died in 2000. Bernard Gordon Entrepreneurial Award recipients are selected by the journalism faculty and honored at the graduation convocation.

Recipients include:

2016 Shane Thomas Monaghan

2015 Jennifer Stanley


2013 Donna Marie Marbury

2012 Lauren Daniels

2011 Tavaner Keziah Bushman

2009 Sigrid Lupieri, Kimberly Anne Peiffer, Mary Noelle Radut, Laura Anne Schocker

2008 Maude Standish

2007 Oluwatosin Mfon

2006 Jason Ariel Horn

2005 E. Abigail Bains

2004 Rita Chang

2003 Shabnam Mogharabi

2002 Nicholas Elliot White

2001 Shawn Allee, Andrew Davis Korfhage

2000 Rachel Katherine Brand, Damon David Brown