Gary Cummings Memorial Award

The Gary Cummings Memorial Award honors Medill’s broadcast director who died in 1987. The award is given to seniors who have excelled in undergraduate broadcast journalism courses. Recipients are selected by the faculty and honored at graduation convocation.

Cummings (BSJ63) had been vice president and general manager of WBBM-TV in Chicago prior to joining the Medill faculty. He previously reported for UPI and Chicago’s American, which later became Chicago Today. As a broadcast journalist, Cummings' on-air editorials earned him three Chicago Emmys and a Peter Lisagor Award.

Recipients include:

2016 Gabrielle Elizabeth Ake and Antonio Jose Vielma

2015  Omar Jimenez

2014 Harry Swartout

2013 Dan Q. Tham

2012 Kayla Stoner

2011 Dana Molina

2010 Jennifer Lynn Trammell

2009 Ryan Robert Dietz

2008 Emily Christiana Baucum

2007 Robert Thomas Moses

2006 Shayla Michelle Reaves

2005 Susan Ying-Jane Ru

2004 Alina de la Caridad Machado

2003 Amanda Grace Cruickshank

2002 Alexandra N. Rasmus-Vorrath

2001 Jolene Ellen Loetscher

2000 Joseph Fryer, Sheinelle Jones