Jack Sissors Memorial Award

The Jack Sissors Memorial Award, presented for the first time in 2004, is awarded to the IMC student who best exemplifies the qualities of the late IMC professor: mentorship, generosity of intellect, spirit and personality.

Sissors (BSJ52, MSJ53) taught advertising media, marketing and media planning at Medill for 39 years. He retired in 1992 and became professor emeritus. Sissors’ career in advertising began at the Leo Burnett agency. He was author or co-author of several media-planning and editing textbooks. While at Medill, Sissors launched and edited the Journal of Media Planning.

At the time of Sissors' death, colleague Martin Block called him “the country’s pre-eminent media-planning expert.” Recipients of the Jack Sissors Memorial Award are selected by the IMC faculty and honored at the graduation convocation.

2016 Wendy Lynn Hidenrick, Denel Elizabeth Kopf, Candace MacDonald, Brandon Olimpiada Manzano, Jennifer Lynn Methling

2015 Lucas De Jong, Jill Kruidenier, Brandon Nelson

2014 Justin Dean Johnson, Tiffani Joi Saxton