Ronald B. Kaatz Humanitarian Award

The Kaatz award was established to recognize integrated marketing communications students who best exemplify the qualities of former Medill professor Ron Kaatz as a mentor demonstrating generosity of intellect, spirit and personality.

Kaatz (BSJ56, MSJ57) was an IMC faculty member from 1986 to 1996. He served 20 years at J. Walter Thompson Co. in various capacities including senior vice president and director of media concepts, director of network relations, director of broadcast operations, and director of JWT's media resources and research department.

Recipients of the Ronald Kaatz Award are selected by the IMC faculty and honored at the graduation convocation.


2015 Manuel Altomonte, Kaitlyn Lahti, Juie Shah

2014 Alvaro Gutierrez, Emily London

2013 William A. Mattiace, Ieesha Lashawn McKenzie

2012 Christopher T. Elton, Rong Shen

2011 Kevin Patrick Byrne, Swathy Poorvisha Prithivi

2010 Katherine S. Floyd, William Don Wortley

2009 Albert Isaac Lin, Eileen Schoenherr Zampa

2008 Tyler Patrick Cox, Virginia Wilson Russell

2007 Alexander Kates Garnick, Kristin McKenna Regan

2006 Reshma Khan, Christopher Joseph Rathje

2005 Christopher James Cleghorn, Soyeong Park

2004 Kavita Bafana, Debra Anne Ceffalio, Christiana Colletto

2003 Melisa Marie Tezanos, John Berton Tingle

2002 Joanne Fuschetto, Chia Chin Wu

2000 Swantje Drescher, Ariel Goldfarb