William C. Fyffe Award

The William C. Fyffe award recognizes Medill undergraduates who demonstrate professional competency in and dedication to the mission of broadcast journalism. The award is dedicated to William C. Fyffe (C54), a broadcast journalist who pioneered many innovations in the field, including the Eyewitness News format and the use of live remotes in newscasts.

Fyffe spent 45 years in television news. He was president and general manager of WABC-TV in New York; vice president and station manager at WLS-TV in Chicago; and news director for KTLA-TV and KABC-TV in Los Angeles. He led the award-winning news division of WXYZ-TV in Detroit during the riots of 1967. As News Director of KABC-TV, he won a Peabody Award for an investigative series on Police Accountability. He also served as vice president of news and wrote the ABC Style Book for all ABC-owned stations. In his later years, he was president of Fyffe Callaway & Associates, a news consulting firm. Medill faculty select the recipient in his or her junior year, and the winner is honored at the graduation convocation.


2016 Orko Manna

2015 Omar Jimenez

2014 Sam Rong

2013 Samuel Jianqiao Rong

2012 Edward Demaria

2011 Sara Grossbarth

2010 Edward Burton Goolsby

2006 Dani Carlson