Medill racks up broadcast award nominations

Medill students had a banner night at the Chicago/Midwest National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences College Student Production Nominations on Tuesday, Sept. 25.

There were Medill nominations in three of the five categories, including the Long Form category, which was filled will only Medill-created productions. Medill was also represented in the Newscast, Long Form and Sports categories.

“This is an enormous honor for first-time student filmmakers crafting a short story in the form of a documentary for the first time - it is a validation of all their passion, hard work and dedication during the documentary class,” said Assistant Professor Brent Huffman, who taught five of the six nominees in the Long Form category. “I am so proud of them.”

Professor Craig Duff oversaw the sixth Long Form nomination in his graduate documentary class.

Students involved with the nominated shows in the Newscast and Sports categories created the pieces as part of the Northwestern News Network (NNN), a student-run broadcast.

“This is a volunteer organization, so the students do this work for the love of the craft,” said Assistant Professor Larry Stuelpnagel, who serves as adviser for NNN. “I’m really proud of them.”

The nomination serves as reminder to students of the opportunities Medill fosters.

“Receiving a nomination like this really confirms for me that I’m in the best possible place for undergraduate journalism,” said Joseph Lautrup (BSJ15), who was nominated in the Newscast category. “Having opportunities like this is surreal.”

Medill students and alumni nominated include:

In the College Student Production – Newscast category:

  • Northwestern News Report – 2013 Chicago Show (Allyson Byers, news director; Will Robinson-Smith, news director/anchor; Ariel Rothfield, anchor/reporter; Leah Varjacques, Nina Leff, Junius Randolph, Orko Manna, Joseph Lautrup, Catherine Reid, Sally Zhang, Amanda Gilbert, Edward Demaria, reporters; Gabe Cohen, sports anchor; Sharon Yoo, producer; Arpita Aneja, audio; Philip Holton, director; Robbie Stern, assistant director)

In the Student Production – Long Form (Fiction and Non-Fiction) category:

  • 50: America’s Historic School Closing  (Brooke Workneh and Alisa Valentin, producers)
  • Flipping the Script (Fabiano Leal, Corinne Chin and Matt Rhodes, producers)
  • Knowing Nick & Nate (Ben Schamisso, producer/co-director; Kristen Kellar, co-director)
  • Taking Back the Block (Miranda Viglietti, Audrey Cheng and Mitchell Armentrout, reporters/producers)
  • Fly Boyz (Arpita Aneja, Rachel Reed, Andrea Kang, producers)
  • The 100th Day: Unknown Territory (Arcadia Kust, Marley DelDuchetto, producers/directors)

In the College Student Production – Sports category:

  • Northwestern Football Past Meets Present (Harry Swartout, producer)

The award winners will be announced on Sunday, Nov. 3.