Two students place in Hearst Foundation journalism competition

Two Medill students placed nationally in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program feature-writing category.

Susie Neilson (BSJ15) placed fifth nationally and will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Gabe Bergado (BSJ14) placed 12th. Both students’ stories originally appeared in North by Northwestern, an independent online publication.

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program honors students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism. This year, Hearst received a record 148 entries in the feature-writing category, with no more than two entries received per school.

The following students were selected to represent Medill in other categories at the Hearst awards for this fall. Results for these entries have not yet been announced:

Eric Feldman, Television Features
Sharon Yoo, Television Features
Rachel Morello, Radio News/Features
Rafael Letzter, Photo News/Features
Elizabeth Steelman, Photo News/Features
Kris Anne Bonifacio, Enterprise Reporting
Lauren Caruba, Enterprise Reporting
Catherine L’Heureux, Multimedia Features
Lynne Carty, Multimedia Features

Deadlines to enter the winter/spring quarter competitions are at noon on the following dates:

Multimedia: News, Jan. 14
Sports Writing, Jan. 21
Multimedia: Enterprise, Feb. 3
Television News, Jan. 28
Photography: Picture Story/Series, Feb. 11
Personality Profile Writing, Feb. 19
Breaking News Writing, March 12
Multimedia: Team Multimedia Storytelling, March 31

For more information on how to enter, contact the appropriate faculty member listed below:

Writing: Roger Boye,
Multimedia: Emily Withrow,
TV/Radio: Larry Stuelpnagel,
Photo: Craig Duff,

Please include the date your entry was published, aired or posted. Students selected will be contacted. Keep in mind that Medill can only submit two entries per category. For pieces that might fit multiple categories, submit early and faculty will decide the best category for entry.