Six Medill faculty members named to ASG Honor Roll

Six Medill faculty members were recently named to the 2013-14 Faculty and Administration Honor Roll by Northwestern University’s Associated Student Government (ASG). The list, which was voted on by students this past spring, featured 79 faculty and 17 staff members from across the University.

Medill’s representatives on the honor roll were: Associate Professor Susan Mango Curtis, Associate Professor Louise Kiernan, Research Associate Su Jung Kim, Adjunct Lecturer Matt Paolelli, Associate Professor Peter Slevin and Assistant Professor Vijay Viswanathan.

Curtis teaches visual journalism. She is an active member of the National Association of Black Journalists Visual Task Force and a past president for the Society for News Design.

Kiernan (MSJ92), who is a Pulitzer Prize winner, teaches journalism students. She was an editor at the Chicago Tribune and a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University.

Kim is a research associate at the Medill IMC Spiegel Digital and Database Research Center. She has a doctorate in Media, Technology and Society program in Northwestern’s School of Communication.

Paolelli (BSJ05, MSJ06) is a journalism adjunct lecturer and manager of digital communications at Catholic Extension, a national fundraising organization committed to supporting and strengthening poor mission dioceses across the United States. He was previously a web content provider for Northwestern.

Slevin teaches courses on politics and global reporting. Prior to joining the Medill faculty, Slevin spent years as a national and international reporter, including 10 years at The Washington Post.

Viswanathan is on the IMC faculty at Medill. His research focus is on media choice and multitasking, brand management, consumer psychology, marketing strategy and marketing mix models.