Endowed Chairs

Top faculty play a pivotol role in driving Medill's national reputation and shaping the professional paths of our students. Endowed faculty professorships ensure that Medill has the resources to recruit and retain the best and brightest faculty. You can name a faculty position in honor of a loved one, colleague, or mentor to ensure that current and future Medill students have the opportunity to learn from the top scholars and practicitioners in journalism and integrated marketing communications who share a commitment to quality teaching.

Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani Professorship

The Qatar Foundation provided funding for the Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani Professorship at Medill. It supports the work of Associate Dean Frank Mulhern.


Helen Gurley Brown Professorship

Given by the Hearst Corporation to honor Helen Gurley Brown, the iconic editor of Cosmopolitan. This endowed chair supports the work of Professor Charles Whitaker.


Knight Chair in Digital Media Strategy

Created by Knight Foundation as part of its focus on sustaining democracy by leading journalism to its best possible future in the 21st century. Owen Youngman holds the Knight Chair.


Theodore R. and Annie Laurie Sills Chair

The Theodore R. and Annie Laurie Sills Chair supports the work of Professor Edward Malthouse. Ted Sills was an early public relations leader and innovator starting in the 1930s.


William F. Thomas Professorship in Journalism

The William F. Thomas Professorship was given to Medill in honor of the former editor and executive vice president of the LA Times. Ellen Shearer is the William F. Thomas Professor.