Medill Summer Conferences

Medill hits the road to meet journalism students at summer conferences



Undergraduate Journalism

Medill has a long-standing reputation for journalism excellence. As the media industry undergoes unprecedented change, Medill leads the way. We train a new generation of multimedia journalists and communicators who will not only thrive in this landscape but also help shape it. Alumni work as social media managers, mobile journalists and account executives for public relations firms.


Graduate Journalism

You know us as Medill, home to a premier graduate journalism program. Our students learn enduring professional skills and techniques for storytelling that are essential to contemporary journalism. The one-year program emphasizes real-world, hands-on experience, from working in the Chicago and Washington, D.C., newsrooms to reporting abroad for news organizations in the Global Residency Program.


Integrated Marketing Communications

Graduate education in IMC was invented at Medill, and the program continues to lead innovation in the field. Students work collaboratively with peers and top-tier global companies to gain strategic and quantitative skills, with an emphasis on analytics that inform consumer insights. Students develop proficiencies across traditional and digital media in order to influence consumers and build business in today's complex global marketplace.



Social Justice News Nexus: Closing the gap between journalists and communities

Headed by Professor Jack Doppelt, principal investigator of the initiative, Social Justice News Nexus brings together the talents of community reporters, Medill faculty and graduate students to focus on critical issues facing Chicago neighborhoods.


President Obama's Young African Leaders visit Medill

Medill School of Journalism students and faculty welcomed a delegation from the Young African Leaders Initiative, a wide-ranging diplomatic program run jointly by the White House, U.S. State Department and U.S. Agency for International Development.


IMC Students Help Lavazza Coffee Grow Business Nationwide

Lecturer Ariel Goldfarb connects graduate IMC students in his class with live clients to teach them how to use strategic IMC principles to solve marketing issues. This year, students worked with Lavazza: Italian Espresso Coffee to create a strategic plan for the company’s domestic marketing efforts.


By Medill

IMC student crosses the globe to learn brand strategy and analytics from Medill

Summary: Medill IMC student Samira Tunku Shahabuddin (IMC14) shares how she took her marketing skills from Malaysia to Australia before she crossed the ocean to pursue an IMC degree at Medill.


Medill's Omar Jimenez on what it takes to win at the Hearst Journalism Awards

Medill junior Omar Jimenez recently won third place in the Hearst TV competition, and shares his perspective on being a young journalist working on making his mark.


Medill IMC Professor Kalyan Raman Receives Distinguished Ver Steeg Fellowship

Medill Integrated Marketing Communications Professor Kalyan Raman received the Distinguished Ver Steeg Research Fellowship on May 8 for his research in CSF Dynamics and media mix optimization.


A Tribute to Leadership

Assistant Professor Scott Anderson rebuilt and relaunched a digital package honoring some of the greatest editors and publishers of the modern era. It includes moving audio (and transcripts) of the testimonials given to these leaders a number of years ago at an American Society of News Editors (ASNE) annual conference in Washington D.C.