Skip to main content


Medill students, alumni and faculty are regularly recognized with some of the top awards for journalism, media and integrated marketing communications excellence.

Current Medill students participate in a variety of contests, and Medill alumni have gone on to win Pulitzers, Emmys, Cannes Lions and many other awards recognizing excellence. Medill confers three major awards to working journalists. We also present a number of awards at graduation convocation each year.

Alumni Awards

Hall of Achievement

The Hall of Achievement was established in 1997 to honor Medill alumni whose distinctive careers have had positive impacts on their fields, including journalism, the arts, business, academia, nonprofits and others.

Learn more

Our Pulitzer Winners

We recognize the outstanding work of alumni who are recipients of the Pulitzer Prize, bestowed since 1917 for excellence in journalism and the arts. The Pulitzers were established by provisions in the will of publisher Joseph Pulitzer. Prizes are awarded yearly in 21 categories.

Learn more

Medill Awards

John Bartlow Martin Award

This annual award honors outstanding professional public interest magazine journalism, at which Martin was so adept himself.

Learn More

James Foley Medill Medal for Courage in Journalism

The award honors journalists who best display moral, ethical or physical courage in the pursuit of a story or series of stories.

Learn more

Ida B. Wells Award

This award recognizes professional journalists or news executives who have opened the doors of employment opportunity for minority journalists.

Learn more

NAJA Medill Milestone Achievement Award

This award honors an individual who has made a lasting impact on media for the benefit of Native American communities and the general public relative to Native Americans. It celebrates and encourages responsible storytelling and journalism in Indian Country.

Learn more

Undergraduate Journalism Awards

William C. Fyffe Award

This award recognizes Medill undergraduates who demonstrate professional competency in and dedication to the mission of broadcast journalism.

Learn more

Gary Cummings Memorial Award

This award  for undergraduates who excel in broadcast journalism is named in honor of Gary Cummings, who directed Medill's broadcast journalism program.

Learn more

Valedictorian Award

The Valedictorian Award honors the graduating senior with the highest cumulative grade-point average.

Learn more

Graduate Journalism Awards

Harrington Awards

Medill's highest awards for graduate journalism students honor the top students in each major area of study.

Learn more

Bernard Gordon Entrepreneurial Award

Named for Bernard Gordon, co-founder of the Medill Magazine Publishing Project, this award honors top master's students in the magazine concentration.

Learn more

Gertrude and G.D. Crain

The Crain award honors students in the Medill Magazine Publishing Project who exhibit outstanding management potential.

Learn more

Graduate IMC Awards

Euro RSCG Tatham Award

This award is in honor of Northwestern graduate Arthur E. Tatham, who was a leader in the Chicago advertising industry.

Learn more

Jack Sissors Memorial Award

This award recognizes the IMC student who best exemplifies the qualities of mentorship and generosity of intellect, spirit and personality.

Learn more

Journal of Integrated Communications (JIMC)

The JIMC award honors students for leadership in editing and managing this internationally distributed journal of theory and practice.

Learn more

Robert E. "Buck" Buchanan Award

The award is presented to IMC students who have demonstrated superior understanding of how message delivery systems produce effective customer contacts.

Learn more

Stanley Tannenbaum Memorial Award

This award honors the IMC student with the highest cumulative grade point average.

Learn more

Student Service Award

This award honors IMC students who help build the program through service to other students.

Learn more

Richard C. Christian Award

This award recognizes the student or students who each year make notable contributions to advancing the learning experience for themselves and their peers.

Learn more

Ronald B. Kaatz Humanitarian Award

This award recognizes IMC students who best exemplify the qualities through mentoring and demonstrating generosity of intellect, spirit and personality.

Learn more

Walter Dill Scott Award

This award recognizes an outstanding IMC student and is named in honor of the 10th president of Northwestern University.

Learn more