Skip to Main Content

Jack Sissors Memorial Award

Jack Sissors Memorial Award

The Jack Sissors Memorial Award, presented for the first time in 2004, is awarded to IMC students who best exemplify the qualities of the late IMC professor: mentorship, generosity of intellect, spirit and personality.

Sissors (BSJ52, MSJ53) taught advertising media, marketing and media planning at Medill for 39 years. He retired in 1992 as professor emeritus. Sissors’ career in advertising began at the Leo Burnett agency. He was author or co-author of several media-planning and editing textbooks. While at Medill, Sissors launched and edited the Journal of Media Planning. At the time of Sissors' death, colleague Martin Block called him “the country’s pre-eminent media-planning expert.”

Recipients of the Jack Sissors Memorial Award are selected by the IMC faculty and honored at the graduation convocation.



  • Karen Entriken
  • Colie Lumbreras
  • Toniann Mendelzon


  • Liz Abello
  • Nora Dunne
  • Siobhan Harris
  • Jameson Sanford


  • Zena Binyamin
  • Jeffrey GoodSmith
  • Kate Hopple
  • Pooja Munshi


  • Wendy Lynn Hidenrick
  • Denel Elizabeth Kopf
  • Candace MacDonald
  • Brandon Olimpiada Manzano
  • Jennifer Lynn Methling


  • Lucas De Jong
  • Jill Kruidenier
  • Brandon Nelson


  • Justin Dean Johnson
  • Tiffani Joi Saxton