Skip to Main Content
Background imageBackground image

Guest Speakers at Medill

We offer you access to an unmatched array of guest speakers who work in a wide variety of media. These speakers come to our campuses and classes to share their expertise and network with students. Some present in classes and some serve as speakers or panelists at Medill events.

They provide great learning opportunities for students and help connect them with changes in the industry.

Below are some of the speakers who have visited Medill recently, some of whom are Medill alumni and former or current colleagues of Medill faculty members.

  • Laurie Abraham, Elle magazine features director, award-winning author
  • Shane Bauer, Senior writer at Mother Jones, winner of Medill’s John Bartlow Martin Award for Public Interest Magazine Journalism
  • David Barstow (BSJ86), Pulitzer Prize-winning senior writer, The New York Times
  • James Bennet, Editor-in-chief of The Atlantic magazine, co-president of Atlantic Media
  • Ari Berman (BSJ04), Author of “Give us the Ballot: The Modern Struggle for Voting Rights in America,” contributing writer at Mother Jones magazine
  • Christine Brennan (BSJ80, MSJ81), Sports columnist, USA Today
  • Elisabeth Bumiller (BSJ77), Washington bureau chief, New York Times
  • Edwin Cameron, Justice of the South Africa Constitutional Court
  • Cari Champion, Host of ESPN2’s "First Take"
  • Joe Fryer (BSJ00), NBC News correspondent
  • Kathy Gannon, Reporter for Associated Press, winner of the James Foley Medill Medal for Courage in Journalism
  • Lisa Gartner (BSJ10), Pulitzer-prize winning journalist, investigative editor at the San Francisco Chronicle
  • Mike Greenberg (BSJ89), Co-host of ESPN Radio’s “Mike & Mike”
  • Gabe Gutierrez (BSJ05), NBC News correspondent
  • Cassidy Hubbarth, ESPN Sports Center anchor
  • Clara Jeffery (MSJ93), Editor-in-chief, Mother Jones magazine
  • Kimberly Johnson, Editor, CFO Journal, The Wall Street Journal
  • Sheinelle Jones (BSJ00)Host of third hour of TODAY

  • Sally Kestin (BSJ87), Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, South Florida Sun Sentinel
  • George R.R. Martin (BSJ70, MSJ71), author of best-selling book series "A Song of Ice and Fire," on which the hit HBO show "Game of Thrones" is based
  • Dean Murphy (BSJ80), Business editor, New York Times
  • Pam Oliver, Fox Sports broadcaster
  • Susan Page (BSJ73), Washington bureau chief, USA Today
  • Brian Pollard, Editor, Cherokee Phoenix
  • James Risen (MSJ78) Pulitzer Prize-winning investigative reporter, New York Times
  • James Rosen (MSJ96), Fox News chief Washington correspondent
  • Tina Rosenberg (MSJ82), Pulitzer Prize-winning writer, co-writer of The New York Times Fixes column, co-founder of Solutions Journalism Network
  • Kai Ryssdal, Host and senior editor of Marketplace, the largest business broadcast program in the U.S.
  • Paul Salopek, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, National Geographic Fellow
  • Dan Snierson (BSJ93, MSJ94), Senior editor of Entertainment Weekly
  • Julie Snyder, Senior producer of “This American Life,” co-creator of "Serial"
  • Derek Thompson (BSJ08), Author of the critically-acclaimed book “Hit Makers: the Science of Popularity in an Age of Distraction,” senior editor at The Atlantic magazine
  • Nancy Utley (BSJ77, MSJ78), President, Fox Searchlight Pictures
  • Michael Wilbon (BSJ80), ESPN analyst, co-host of "Pardon the Interruption"